In the Western astrology the zodiac sign is also called sun sign because it is determined by the position of the sun on that particular date

Qualities of Zodiac Signs

The varied constellations and configurations we see shining across the black expanse are used in daily, weekly, monthly, and yearly divinations. Based on your birth chart (which reveals how the sun, moon, stars, and other planets aligned on the date and time of your birth), each day of your existence is further shaped by the current celestial patterns in our sky.

The birth of astrology has Babylonian beginnings as the ancient people used the placement of the celestial bodies to predict natural events and the seasons. As the Greeks and Romans adopted the study, the science expanded to include weather predictions, natural disasters, and war. Eventually, royalty used astrology as counsel before going into battle.

Early astrologers realized it took twelve lunar cycles to orbit around the sun, so they split the year into twelve constellations. Seasons and weather patterns coincided with certain star groups.

The zodiac (Greek word meaning “Circle of Animals”) is divided into 12 categories or “sun signs” in western astrology. The signs are a symbolic representation of what is known as phases of uninterrupted, ever flowing unending cycles of growth and evolution. This may be a bit hard to grasp, to help you, consider everything as a circle, within this is twelve similar but different smaller circles, each representing the flow of all elements under it’s influence. It will also help if you think of the zodiac as a continuous flow, without distinct, sharp defined borders, much the same way as colors do when looking at a spectrum.



In the Western astrology the zodiac sign is also called sun sign because it is determined by the position of the sun on that particular date. Earlier the 12 zodiac signs used to signify the twelve months of the year.

Within the houses of the zodiac travel the planets, sun and the moon. Each zodiac sign and planet possesses certain attributes. Neptune, for instance, is dark and moody while Venus is all about love. Taurus is considered bullheaded; Libra is indecisive. Each planet interacts with each sign in a different way due to these variations in temperament. For instance, if the warring planet Mars finds itself in the house of the gentle Pisces, Pisces might be told to avoid confrontation or watch for conflict during this time. If Mars travels into the house of the aggressive Mars-ruled Aries, however, Aries might be told that it is feeling quite empowered at this time and therefore advise to ask for a raise, seek a new career or leave a bad relationship. Each planet currently affecting the sun sign in some way is most responsible for influencing the entire horoscope.

There are 12 zodiac signs, and each sign has its own strengths and weaknesses, its own specific traits, desires and attitude towards life and people. By analyzing the projection of the position of planets, and the Sun and the Moon on the Ecliptic at the moment of birth. Astrology can give us a glimpse of a person’s basic characteristics, preferences, flaws and fears.
Click to know more

Each zodiac sign has it’s unique and distinct qualities that make them lovable and adorned.

But with every positive comes a negative and there are also some things about each of the signs that to be quite honest get on a lot of people’s nerves.

Our zodiac signs say a lot about our personalities and our behavior, in general. Our habits and traits are all defined by our stars in a particular way that help us understand ourselves or get to know people better, based on their signs. These traits that are defined by our stars can be both, good and bad, attractive and ugly.

It is always fun to know people before actually being involved with them and is a really amazing thing to know about the things they will react nicely or harshly to before presenting it to them.

As we all know, zodiac signs belong to four elements:
Fire: Aries, Leo, Sagittarius
Earth: Taurus, Virgo, Capricorn
Air: Gemini, Libra, Aquarius
Water: Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces

Fire Signs
Fire signs tend to be passionate, dynamic, and temperamental. They get angry quickly, but they also forgive easily. They are adventurers with immense energy. They are physically very strong and are a source of inspiration for others. Fire signs are intelligent, self-aware, creative and idealistic people, always ready for action. The Fire Signs are: Aries, Leo and Sagittarius.

Earth Signs
Earth signs are “grounded” and the ones that bring us down to earth. They are mostly conservative and realistic, but they can also be very emotional. They are connected to our material reality and can be turned to material goods. They are practical, loyal and stable and they stick by their people through hard times. The Earth Signs are: Taurus, Virgo and Capricorn.

Air Signs
Air signs are rational, social, and love communication and relationships with other people. They are thinkers, friendly, intellectual, communicative and analytical. They love philosophical discussions, social gatherings and good books. They enjoy giving advice, but they can also be very superficial. The Air Signs are: Gemini, Libra and Aquarius.

Water Signs
Water signs are exceptionally emotional and ultra-sensitive. They are highly intuitive and they can be as mysterious as the ocean itself. Water signs love profound conversations and intimacy. They rarely do anything openly and are always there to support their loved ones. The Water Signs are: Cancer, Scorpio and Pisces.

Every zodiac sign has an element attached to it. But the quality of that element changes as the signs change. There are three qualities in the zodiac: Cardinal, Fixed and Mutable, and this combination is the essence of zodiac sign, giving a great personality description about the fundamentals at the core of human being.

Cardinal Signs are Aries, Cancer, Leo and Capricorn. The qualities being “cardinal” lends is that it tends to make them initiating, restless and goal-oriented.


Fixed Signs are Taurus, Leo, Scorpio and Aquarius. This means that these people, because of this, will have good powers of concentration and be somewhat stubborn and persistent.

Mutable Signs are Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius and Pisces. These people are very adaptable and tend to have very strong mental abilities.

Each sign of the zodiac has a unique combination of one quality and one element – no two signs carry the same two of these together.

According to Chinese astrology, the year of a person’s birth is represented by one of these animals. The twelve animal signs or zodiac symbols are Rat, Ox, Tiger, Rabbit, Dragon, Snake, Horse, Sheep, Monkey, Rooster, Dog, and Pig. Chinese astrology also has five elements of nature namely: water, wood, fire, earth and metal. According to Chinese astrology, a person’s destiny can be determined by the position of the planets and the positions of the Sun and Moon at the person’s time of birth. Chinese believe that our birth year can determine our attitude and potential and that animal birth signs have symbolism and represent a specific behavior.